Executives, managers, and IT staff all have a stake in cybersecurity.

The NIST Cybersecurity Framework training courses (NCSF) offered by LRS Education Services are designed to train how to align and prioritize cybersecurity activities with business/mission requirements, risk tolerances, and resources using the Framework. For the past several years, organizations have been using knowledge and skills learned in LRS NIST cybersecurity training, which align with Federal standards, to create or improve their cybersecurity programs.

Learn more about the NIST Cybersecurity Framework.

LRS NIST Cybersecurity Framework Courses

NIST Cybersecurity Framework (NCSF)FoundationTraining Course

Designed for anyone in an organization who needs to understand the basics of cybersecurity, the components of the NIST CSF, and how the NIST CSF aligns to risk management. Security, IT, risk management, policy makers, and other business professionals who have responsibility for aspects of business or technical security can benefit from this course.

This course is a great fit for anyone with an interest in or responsibility for the survival of the business. This includes IT, C level personnel, compliance, legal, auditing, human resources, etc.

  • One-day, high-level overview of threats and common risks.
  • Introduces the three main components of the NIST Cybersecurity Framework: the Core, Implementation Tiers and Profiles.
  • Outlines the Seven Step NIST CSF process that is used to analyze, plan, implement, monitor, and improve protection of critical assets.

NIST Cybersecurity Framework (NCSF)PractitionerTraining Course

Designed for individuals within an organization who are directly involved in the planning, design, creation, implementation, and or improvement of a cybersecurity program that will follow the principles of the NIST Cybersecurity Framework. Although some aspects of the course are technical, this course also includes risk management, business controls, and other topics that would be of value to staff outside of the traditional technical audience.

This course is suited for individuals working with and overseeing the technology, including CIOs, IT Directors and Managers, IT Security personnel, and IT staff.

  • Two-day deep dive into Foundation concepts.
  • Focus on designing and implementing (or improving) a cybersecurity program to minimize risks and protect critical assets based on the NIST CSF.
  • Provides a detailed analysis of various technical and business controls, including the Center for Internet Security 20 Critical Security Controls, the ISO 27001: 2013 Information Security Management System, and the ISO 27002: 2013 Code of Practice.

NIST Cybersecurity Framework (NCSF)Boot CampTraining Course

A combination of the Foundation and Practitioner courses over three days, and it aligns with the same audience as the Practitioner course.

go to NICCS National Initiative for Cybersecurity Careers and Studies website go to CISA Cybersecurity & Infrastructure Security Agency website go to NIST National Institute of Standards and Technology website

LRS Education Services NIST cybersecurity courses are recognized and listed on the National Initiative For Cybersecurity Careers and Studies (NICCS) website for our expertise and professionalism. NICCS is managed by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security.

All LRS NIST Framework courses come with NIST Framework certification and continuing education credits, such as PDUs and CEUs. Online NIST Cybersecurity Framework Certification Exams are available and hosted through the LRS NIST Cybersecurity Framework Certification Portal. Candidates receive a certificate for a passing score and a skills-gap document within the portal after completing their exam. Have questions? Contact LRS Education Services at 877.832.0688 x1493 or email us at GetSmart@LRS.com.

About the NIST Cybersecurity Framework (NCSF)

Learn more about Strengthening the Cybersecurity of Federal Networks and Critical InfrastructurePresidential Executive Order 13800

requires U.S. Federal agencies to use the Cybersecurity Framework (CSF) that was created by the National Institute for Standards and Technology (NIST) to improve cybersecurity for critical infrastructure.

The CSF was created as a result of collaboration between government and the private sector. It “uses a common language to address and manage cybersecurity risk in a cost-effective way based on business needs without placing additional regulatory requirements on businesses.” The Framework assists in determining which activities are most important to assure critical operations and service delivery. In turn, that helps prioritize investments and maximize the impact of each dollar spent on cybersecurity.

The NIST Roadmap for Improving Critical Infrastructure Cybersecurity, a companion document to the Cybersecurity Framework, reinforces the need for a skilled cybersecurity workforce. It recognizes that, as cybersecurity threats and technology environments evolve, the workforce must adapt in turn.

The Cybersecurity Enhancement Act of 2014 calls for NIST to coordinate a national cybersecurity awareness and education program that includes “widespread dissemination of cybersecurity technical standards and best practices” and efforts to make these best practices usable not only by enterprise organizations, but also by “small to medium-sized businesses, educational institutions, and state, local, and tribal governments." This legislation established the critical need for NIST Framework training.

About Cybersecurity Careers

To learn more about the numerous opportunities in cybersecurity, the interactive Cyber Career Pathways Tool can be utilized to identify potential cyber careers. Why use the Cyber Career Pathway Tool? Individuals considering a cybersecurity career, and professionals seeking to progress within the field, will find a wealth of information on the skills needed to begin, transition, or advance a cyber career in 52 different cybersecurity work roles. The tool was created and is maintained in partnership with the Interagency Federal Cyber Career Pathways Working Group, led by CISA, the Department of Defense, and the Department of Veterans Affairs.