Streamlined Certification Paths

IT changes in the blink of an eye. Just about the time you are ‘up to speed’ on the latest technology, it’s practically obsolete and time to move on to the next ‘thing.”

Now you can earn your Microsoft Certifications faster than ever. Microsoft has recently streamlined its technical certifications in order to reflect industry-recognized competencies while provide learners an easier, more flexible way to showcase their specific skills with regard to Microsoft products and services.

Following are the five new expert certifications:

MCSE: Cloud Platform and Infrastructure- focusing on skills validation for Windows Server and Microsoft Azure

MCSE: Mobility- focusing on skills validation for Windows Client and Enterprise Mobility Suite

MCSE: Data Management and Analysis- focusing on skills validation for both on-premises and cloud-based Microsoft data products and services

MCSE: Productivity- focusing on skills validation for Office 365, SharePoint, Exchange, and Skype for Business

MCSD: App Builder- focusing on skills validation for Web and Mobile app development


Go to the Microsoft site to find out more about the new Microsoft Streamlined Certification Paths by clicking here.

What’s Changed?

To earn each of these credentials, you’ll need to earn the qualifying Microsoft Certified Solutions Associate (MCSA) certification, then pass one additional exam from a list of electives associated with the corresponding Center of Excellence and the resulting MSCE or MCSD (depending on your chosen elective) will be added to your transcript which never expires.

The achievement date of your certification will signify your investment in continuing education on that particular technology.  Every year, you’ll have the opportunity to re-earn the certification by passing an additional exam from the list of electives. This demonstrates your commitment to broadening and/or deepening your skills in a given Center of Excellence along with the ever-evolving Microsoft technologies where new features are launched weekly. 

Each time you earn the certification, a new certification entry will be added to your transcript.  This process replaces the existing recertification requirement of taking a specific recertification exam every 2 years (MCSD) or 3 years (MCSE) in order to prevent your certification from going inactive.

You may already have a new MCSE or MCSD certification

If you currently hold an active MCSE or MCSD certification, your MCP transcript is already being re-evaluated in line with the new MCSE and MCSD certification requirements. As such, you will earn one of the new corresponding MCSE of MCSD certifications for 2016, without having to take an additional exam.

The list of eligible certifications and corresponding certifications are below:

Your Active Certification


Your New Certification

MCSE: Server Infrastructure

MCSE: Cloud Platform and Infrastructure

MCSE: Private Cloud

MCSE: Cloud Platform and Infrastructure

MCSE: Data Platform

MCSE: Data Management and Analysis

MCSE: Business Intelligence

MCSE: Data Management and Analysis

MCSE: Enterprise Devices and Apps

MCSE: Mobility

MCSE: SharePoint

MCSE: Productivity

MCSE: Communication

MCSE: Productivity

MCSE: Messaging

MCSE: Productivity

MCSD: Universal Windows Platform

MCSD: App Builder

MCSD: Web Applications

MCSD: App Builder

MCSD: SharePoint Applications

MCSD: App Builder